Texas shield logo

African American Community Leaders Honored at UT Austin Event

Members of The Precursors salute their alma mater at the university-wide 60th anniversary celebration Sept. 2016.

The University of Texas at Austin will honor three organizations and four individuals for outstanding public service and work on civil rights at the annual Community Leadership Awards ceremony on Monday, Dec. 12,  6-8 p.m. at the George Washington Carver Museum and Cultural Center.

The Community Leadership Awards ceremony is a community tradition that recognizes leaders instrumental in making Austin the city it is today. The annual event is co-sponsored by the Office of the President and the Division for Diversity and Community Engagement.

Honorees this year are:

Community Partnership Award

  • Black Ex-Students of Texas (BEST)
  • Texas Exes Black Alumni Network

Dr. James L. Hill Leadership Circle Award

  • Earl C. Campbell, UT Austin’s first Heisman Trophy winner and a member of the NFL Hall of Fame. Campbell will not appear at the event.
  • Jacqueline E. Hawkins, is an information technology consultant for the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s Food and Nutrition Service. She is also a member of The Precursors Inc.
  • Cloteal Davis Haynes, is president of The Precursors, Inc. and co-owner of Haynes-Eaglin-Waters LLC.
  • Leon L. Holland, is a retired Army colonel who was one of the first undergraduate African-American students to be admitted to UT Austin in 1956. He is also a member of The Precursors Inc.

Dr. June Brewer Legacy Award
The Precursors, Inc., is a group of UT Austin alumni who are among the first African American students to attend and integrate the university more than 40 years ago. Their goal is to ensure that future generations of African American students are supported at the university.

For more information, contact: Jessica Sinn, Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, 512-350-4291, sinnjessica@austin.utexas.edu.