Texas shield logo

Mark Your Calendars!

Join us at the 38th annual Sweatt Symposium on Civil Rights, where we will celebrate game-changing former athletes
Image of guest speakers at 2023 Sweatt Symposium

All are invited to attend the DDCE’s 38th Annual Sweatt Symposium on Civil Rights titled: “Game Changers: Excellence on the Field and Beyond.” It’s happening on Thursday, Nov. 2, 5:30 p.m. at Rowling Hall (RRH 1.400 Crum Auditorium).

In a time when it feels like we are becoming more polarized than ever, join us as we celebrate these game-changers who have used the power of athletics to bring us together and create positive change.  Go here to RSVP.

The panelists are:

  • Dr. Nathaniel Hughes, M.D.: Retired NFL player and current cardiothoracic anesthesiology fellow at Emory University
  • Trevante Rhodes: Former UT Austin Track and Field athlete and current actor who starred in “Moonlight,” “Bird Box,” “The United States vs. Billie Holiday” and the upcoming feature film, “Mea Culpa”
  • Cynthea Rhodes-Patterson: A four-time All-American and winner at USA Track & Field Championships and current senior human resources manager at The Home Depot Technology Center

After the panel discussion, five members of the Longhorn community—students, faculty and staff—will be honored with Heman Sweatt Legacy Awards. The honorees are:

  • Dr. Lydia Contreras: Professor, Cockrell School of Engineering; Vice Provost for Faculty Diversity, Equity and Inclusivity, Provost’s Office
  • Malik Crowder: Assistant director, Multicultural Engagement Center
  • Mason Porter: Senior, College of Liberal Arts
  • Sameeha Rizvi: Senior, College of Natural Sciences and Steve Hicks School of Social Work
  • Ariana Seeloff: Senior, College of Liberal Arts

A big thanks to our campus partners for making this event possible:

College of Education, Cockrell School of Engineering, College of Fine Arts, College of Liberal Arts, Dell Medical School, Financial and Administrative Services, Graduate Schoo, McCombs School of Business, Office of the President, School of Information, School of Law, LBJ School of Public Affairs, Moody College of Communication, Vice President for Student Affairs