Texas shield logo

Tower Awards 2023

UT Tower with blue sky and red rooftop

The Office of the President and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement invite you to the UT Tower Awards, an event honoring excellence in community leadership among UT students, faculty, staff and community partners. The ceremony combines the Community Leadership Awards and the Tower Awards.


Monday, April 17, 2023

5:30-6 p.m. – Fellowship, featuring djmotivate

6-7:30 p.m. – Program featuring student emcees Amara Kwiatkowski, Marilyn Nwora and Poorna Menon
Etter-Harbin Alumni Center
Connally Ballroom
The University of Texas at Austin
2110 San Jacinto Boulevard, Austin, TX, 78712

For more details, or for accommodations, please email ovp-ddce@austin.utexas.edu.


Parking is free in the San Jacinto garage.
San Jacinto Garage (SJG)
2401 San Jacinto Boulevard,
Austin, TX 78705

The UT Tower Awards, hosted by the Office of the President and the Division of Diversity and Community Engagement, honor organizations and individuals for their service to the greater Austin area. These awards aim to highlight excellence in community leadership and commitment to community-university partnerships.

Previously, the Community Leadership Awards honored external community partners, while the Tower Awards primarily honored campus community members. By hosting one joint community awards ceremony for the university, we build stronger community-university relationships while also elevating the significance of this recognition for our honorees. Save the date and plan to join us in person as we come together to celebrate the people and organizations that are making a big impact on campus and in the Greater Austin community.

2022 Tower Awards winners2023 Honorees

Outstanding Community Engagement Award

Asian Texans for Justice
Austin Child Guidance Center

Outstanding Faculty/Staff Volunteer Award

Meera Rajagopalan
Director of Clinical & Career Services, School of Nursing

Outstanding Service-Learning Instructor Award

Michele Hockett Cooper
Assistant Professor of Instruction, College of Natural Sciences

Stacey Sowards
Professor, Moody College of Communication

Outstanding Student Organization Award

The American Society of Mechanical Engineers at Texas

Texas Cowboys Outstanding Student Volunteer Award

Maria Ghaly
Senior, College of Natural Sciences

Ashray Saxena
Graduate Student, Cockrell School of Engineering

William C. Powers Jr. Lifetime Service Award

Emilio Zamora
Professor, College of Liberal Arts